Portable generator · Champion

Champion 201241 13,500W Electric Start Tri Fuel Generator

Champion 201241: 13,500 W running / 16,875 W starting on gasoline, tri fuel (gas, propane, natural gas), CO Shield shutoff. Maker specs and run time, linked.

Which version: Open-frame tri-fuel (gasoline/propane/natural gas) with CO Shield; not an inverter. Champion's 12,000 W tri-fuel (201161) page returns 404 — this 13,500 W model is the live large tri-fuel page.

Running (gasoline)13,500 W
Starting (gasoline)16,875 W
CO sensorYes
InverterNo

championpowerequipment.com shows no price (sold through retailers)

See Champion 201241 13,500W Electric Start Tri Fuel Generator on Amazon

Amazon's price is not shown here: we only display prices we can link to a source page.

Champion sells the 201241 for whole-house outages and heavy projects: the page says it “ensures that the next time there's an outage, the power in your house stays on”. It runs on gasoline, propane or natural gas, comes with a 25-foot natural-gas hose kit, and is an open-frame generator with a 739 cc V-twin, not an inverter. It weighs 361 lb. Champion's 12,000 W tri-fuel page (201161) returns 404; this 13,500 W model is the live large tri-fuel page.

Running vs starting watts

Champion rates it at 13,500 running and 16,875 starting watts on gasoline, 12,000 and 15,000 on propane, and 11,000 and 13,750 on natural gas. The 13,500 W in the name is the gasoline running figure; the starting figure applies only for the moment a motor starts. On its own it can start a 1/2 HP well pump, a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner or a chest freezer on any fuel; for combined loads use the largest-motor rule.

Run time

Champion publishes 8 hours at 50 % load on the 11-gallon gasoline tank and 3 hours at 50 % load on a 20 lb propane tank. It publishes no natural-gas run time. We show those points only and do not extrapolate. It is not an inverter; Champion lists automatic voltage regulation and its Volt Guard surge protector, but no harmonic-distortion figure, so check the owner's manual before connecting sensitive electronics.

Safety

The 201241 has CO Shield, which Champion describes as a “carbon monoxide auto shutoff system”. That reduces the risk but does not make indoor, garage or porch use safe: CPSC's outdoor-only rule still applies. Our CPSC recall search found no recall matching this model.

Add your appliances to the calculator to check your own load against these figures.

Specifications

Each figure links to the manufacturer or retailer page it was read from. “Not published” means the maker's page does not state it.

Fuelgasoline, propane, natural gas source
Running (rated) wattsGasoline: 13,500 W · Propane: 12,000 W · Natural Gas: 11,000 W source
Starting (peak) wattsGasoline: 16,875 W · Propane: 15,000 W · Natural Gas: 13,750 W source
InverterNo source (Inverter: No)
CO sensor (maker's description)Yes — CO Shield source
Fuel tank11 gal source
Run time (maker-published)8 h at 50 % load on gasoline source
3 h at 50 % load on propane (20 lb tank) source
Noise79 dBA at 23 ft source
Outlets14-50R 120/240V 50A, L14-30R 120/240V 30A, L5-30R 120V 30A, 5-20R 120V GFCI duplex ×2 source
Electric startYes source (Start Type: Electric (battery included))
Remote startnot published
Parallel capablenot published
CARB compliantnot published
EPA certifiedYes source (EPA Certified: Yes)
Engine739 cc source (V-twin)
Weight361 lb source
Dimensions32.7 × 33.7 × 33 in source (L × W × H)
Warranty3 years source (3 Year Warranty)
Releasednot published

Frequently asked questions

Can the Champion 201241 run a well pump or an RV air conditioner?
By the figures we hold, yes, on any of its three fuels: its starting watts (16,875 gasoline, 15,000 propane, 13,750 natural gas) exceed the starting figures of our 1/2 HP well pump and 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner. Check your own equipment in the calculator.
Is the 201241 RV-ready?
It has no TT-30R. Its outlets are a 120/240 V 50 A 14-50R, a 120/240 V 30 A L14-30R, a 120 V 30 A L5-30R and two 5-20R GFCI duplexes. Champion's page does not describe it as RV-ready.
Is the 201241 CARB compliant?
Champion's page lists “EPA Certified: Yes” but does not state CARB status for this model.
Can two be paralleled?
Champion does not publish parallel capability for this model; its spec table has no parallel row.
How loud is the 201241?
Champion lists 79 dBA at 23 ft.

Sources

  1. Champion Power Equipment — model 201241 product page, Specs and Description (accessed 2026-10-31)

Data entered 2026-10-31. Page updated 2026-10-31.