Inverter generator · Champion

Champion 100396 3400W Electric Start Dual Fuel Inverter

Champion 100396: 3,100 W running / 3,400 W starting on gasoline, dual fuel inverter, no CO sensor. Maker-published specs and run time, each figure linked.

Which version: Electric-start sibling of model 100263 (3400-Watt Dual Fuel Inverter), whose maker page returns 404; no CO Shield on this model.

Running (gasoline)3,100 W
Starting (gasoline)3,400 W
CO sensorNo
InverterYes

championpowerequipment.com shows no price (sold through retailers)

See Champion 100396 3400W Electric Start Dual Fuel Inverter on Amazon

Amazon's price is not shown here: we only display prices we can link to a source page.

Champion pitches the 100396 for “RVs, tailgating, your next project or backup power for your home”. It is the electric-start sibling of model 100263, whose product page now returns 404. It has no CO Shield; the page does not mention a CO sensor at all. Champion's description also mentions a 50-amp RV outlet that does not appear in the model's own outlet list; we follow the outlet list. If you want the CO shutoff in a similar size, see the 201319.

Running vs starting watts

Champion rates it at 3,100 running and 3,400 starting watts on gasoline, and 2,790 running and 3,060 starting on propane. The 3,400 W in the name is the starting figure, available only while a motor starts; continuous loads must fit under the running figure. On its own it can start a 1/2 HP sump pump or a French-door refrigerator and run a 1,100 W microwave on either fuel. It cannot start our 7-1/4 in circular saw, whose starting figure is 3,600 W.

Run time

Champion publishes 7.5 hours at 25 % load on the 1.6-gallon gasoline tank and 14.5 hours at 25 % load on a 20 lb propane tank. No 50 % figure is given. We show those points only and do not extrapolate. It is an inverter generator, and Champion states Clean Power (less than 3% THD) for sensitive electronics.

Safety

With no CO sensor, nothing on this generator shuts it down if exhaust builds up, so placement is the only protection: CPSC says outdoors only, away from the house, never on a porch or in a carport, with the exhaust pointed away from buildings. Our CPSC recall search found no recall matching this model.

Add your appliances to the calculator to check your own load against these figures.

Specifications

Each figure links to the manufacturer or retailer page it was read from. “Not published” means the maker's page does not state it.

Fuelgasoline, propane source
Running (rated) wattsGasoline: 3,100 W · Propane: 2,790 W source
Starting (peak) wattsGasoline: 3,400 W · Propane: 3,060 W source
InverterYes source (Inverter: Enclosed)
CO sensor (maker's description)No source
Fuel tank1.6 gal source
Run time (maker-published)7.5 h at 25 % load on gasoline source
14.5 h at 25 % load on propane (20 lb tank) source
Noise59 dBA at 23 ft source
OutletsL5-30R 120V 30A, 5-20R 120V duplex, 12V DC automotive source (TT-30R RV adapter included)
Electric startYes source (Start Type: Recoil, Electric)
Remote startnot published
Parallel capableYes source (optional parallel kit)
CARB compliantnot published
EPA certifiedYes source (EPA Certified: Yes)
Engine192 cc source
Weight95.9 lb source
Dimensions25.1 × 17.3 × 18.3 in source (L × W × H)
Warranty3 years source (3-year limited warranty)
Releasednot published

Frequently asked questions

Can the Champion 100396 run a well pump or an RV air conditioner?
Not by the figures we hold. Its starting watts (3,400 gasoline, 3,060 propane) are far below the starting figures of our 1/2 HP well pump and 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner. Check your own unit in the calculator.
Is the 100396 RV-ready (TT-30R)?
It has a 120 V 30 A locking outlet (L5-30R), and Champion includes a TT-30R RV adapter. The other outlets are a 5-20R duplex and a 12 V DC automotive outlet.
Is the 100396 CARB compliant?
Champion's page lists “EPA Certified: Yes” but does not state CARB status for this model.
Can two be paralleled?
Yes, with Champion's optional parallel kit.
How loud is the 100396?
Champion lists 59 dBA at 23 ft.

Sources

  1. Champion Power Equipment — model 100396 product page, Specs and Description (accessed 2026-10-31)

Data entered 2026-10-31. Page updated 2026-10-31.