Portable generator · Westinghouse
Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI (fuel-injected, CO sensor)
Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI: 9,500 W running / 12,500 W starting on gasoline, dual fuel, fuel-injected, CO sensor. Maker specs and run time, each linked.
Which version: Electronic-fuel-injection version of the WGen9500DFc; heavier (221 lb) with longer published runtimes than the carbureted DFc and the sensor-less WGen9500DF.
Maker list price $1,549 (2026-10-31, source; MSRP shown on westinghouse.com; product .js reports available=false for online purchase on 2026-10-31)
0.163 $/running W
See Westinghouse WGen9500DFc EFI on Amazon
Amazon's price is not shown here: we only display prices we can link to a source page.
This is the electronic-fuel-injection version of the WGen9500DFc, and on the day we read Westinghouse's site it was the only WGen9500 dual-fuel model in the maker's catalog (part number 9533). Westinghouse markets it for “home, RV & jobsite” and says EFI means no choke or carburetor and “reduces fuel use and emissions”. Compared with its siblings: the carbureted WGen9500DFc also has a CO sensor but shorter published run times and weighs 212.1 lb; the WGen9500DF has no CO sensor. The EFI weighs 221 lb, has GFCI 5-20R duplexes and is the only one of the three listed as CARB compliant. Westinghouse showed it as unavailable online when we read the page.
Running vs starting watts
Gasoline: 9,500 running and 12,500 peak watts. Propane: 8,500 running and 11,200 peak. The 12,500 W headline is the peak figure, there only while a motor starts; plan continuous loads against the running figure. On its own it can start a 1/2 HP well pump, a 13,500 BTU RV air conditioner or a 1/2 HP sump pump on either fuel.
Run time
Westinghouse publishes 15 hours at 25 % load and 10 hours at 50 % load on the 6.6-gallon gasoline tank, and 8.75 hours at 50 % load on propane, with no propane tank size stated. We show those points only and do not extrapolate. It is a conventional generator, not an inverter: output frequency follows engine speed, and the description gives no harmonic-distortion figure, so check the owner's manual before connecting sensitive electronics.
Safety
The spec table says “Carbon Monoxide (CO) Sensor: Yes” and the description calls it a “CO sensor for added safety”. Unlike the carbureted DFc page, it does not say the sensor shuts the engine down. Either way, a sensor reduces the risk but does not make indoor use safe: CPSC's outdoor-only rule applies. Our CPSC recall search found no recall for this model.
Add your appliances to the calculator to check your own load against these figures.
Specifications
Each figure links to the manufacturer or retailer page it was read from. “Not published” means the maker's page does not state it.
| Fuel | gasoline, propane source |
|---|---|
| Running (rated) watts | Gasoline: 9,500 W · Propane: 8,500 W source |
| Starting (peak) watts | Gasoline: 12,500 W · Propane: 11,200 W source |
| Inverter | No source (maker files it under the 'Dual Fuel Traditional Generators' product tag; no inverter claim on the page) |
| CO sensor (maker's description) | Yes — CO sensor for added safety source |
| Fuel tank | 6.6 gal source (6.6 gal. (25 L)) |
| Run time (maker-published) | 15 h at 25 % load on gasoline source 10 h at 50 % load on gasoline source 8.75 h at 50 % load on propane (propane tank size not stated by maker) source |
| Noise | 74 dBA (maker states no measuring distance) source (maker prints 'Noise Level: 74 dBA' with no measuring distance) |
| Outlets | 5-20R 120V GFCI duplex ×2, L14-30R 120/240V 30A, 14-50R 120/240V 50A source (all outlets transfer-switch ready per page; 'ST Switch' also listed) |
| Electric start | Yes source (Starter Type: Electric, Remote, Recoil) |
| Remote start | Yes source (remote key fob) |
| Parallel capable | not published |
| CARB compliant | Yes source (CARB Compliant: Yes; description: 'Carb compliant in all 50 States') |
| EPA certified | not published |
| Engine | 457 cc source |
| Weight | 221 lb source (Dry Unit Weight) |
| Dimensions | 27.3 × 20.6 × 22.5 in source (Product Dimensions L × W × H) |
| Warranty | 3 years source (residential, 3 Year Limited; commercial 1 Year Limited) |
| Released | not published |
Frequently asked questions
Can the WGen9500DFc EFI run a central air conditioner?
Is the WGen9500DFc EFI RV-ready?
Is the WGen9500DFc EFI CARB compliant?
Can two be paralleled?
How loud is it?
Sources
- Westinghouse — WGen9500DFc EFI product page, Specifications (accessed 2026-10-31)
- Westinghouse — WGen9500DFc EFI Shopify product data (.js): price, tags, availability (accessed 2026-10-31)
Data entered 2026-10-31. Page updated 2026-10-31.